One of Japan's largest directories x find the right AI in as little as a minute

  1. AI BEST SEARCH
  2. AIDAN
AIDAN

AIDAN
: How to use it, features, and the business problems it solves

Add bookmark

What is AIDAN?

AIDAN is an AI learning service where you practice the skills for using generative AI at work through 14 courses ranked like martial-arts belts, from white to black. Besides AI basics, prompting, workflow automation, app building and agent development, it offers role-specific courses on security, law, hiring, teaching, auditing, marketing and more, with 1,170 questions with explanations. Daily web practice (10 questions a day) is free with no sign-up, and textbook PDFs for every course (4 languages) are also free. Paid official exams (planned at $3.99 per attempt) are not yet on sale during the public beta. Run by Trappist, a sole proprietorship in South Korea.

Business problems it solves

About "AIDAN"

Availability (as of October 2026): AIDAN is in public beta. Daily practice, mock exams and textbook PDFs are free and available now, but the paid official exams (the ones that issue certificates) are "preparing for sale" for all 14 courses and cannot be taken yet. The price ($3.99 per attempt) is the planned release price.

What is AIDAN?

AIDAN is an AI learning service (an AI-skills question bank and certification) that builds the ability to use generative AI at work step by step, using karate- or taekwondo-style belts. There are six ranks from "AI Basics (white belt)" to "Building AI Agents (black belt)," plus eight role-specific "specialty" courses such as security, law, hiring, teaching and auditing—14 courses in total.

Daily web practice is free with no sign-up: solve 10 questions a day and check the reasoning with explanations for each choice. It is run by Trappist, a sole proprietorship in South Korea, which also makes "Agent Cat," an app that shows AI coding agents' usage.

14Courses
White to black belt + specialties
1,170Questions with explanations
10Free daily practice
(10 questions a day)
4Textbook PDF languages
JA, KO, EN, ZH

Figures as shown on the official site (October 2026).

It tests "noticing when AI is wrong," not how to operate a tool

AIDAN isn't testing the steps for operating a specific AI tool. The official site explains that the exams check "the judgment to notice when AI makes a mistake and to choose the right tool and settings." For example, the white-belt "AI Basics" exam covers these domains:

DomainWeightMain topics
How generative AI works and its limits25%Tokens, context windows, knowledge cutoff, causes of hallucination
Effective instructions and iterative improvement25%Specific instructions, role and background, examples, output format
Choosing product forms and features20%When to use chat, projects, custom assistants, agents or APIs
Responsible use and data15%Handling confidential information, verifying AI output
Adoption value and organizational view15%Comparing value and risk in business cases

Questions are written based on each vendor's official documentation, and each question cites its source document. On the 1st of every month, at least 25% of each course's questions are replaced with new ones, so the content keeps up with changes in AI products and specifications (the five new role-specific courses are included from December 1, 2026).

How to use

  1. Choose a course Pick from the course list on the official site. There is a recommended order, but you can start at any belt. Regardless of role, starting with the white-belt "AI Basics" is recommended.
  2. Do the daily practice From "Start today's practice," solve a 10-question, 15-minute set without signing up. The screen mimics an exam booklet and OMR answer sheet; answer five-option multiple-choice questions.
  3. Review with explanations Check the reasoning with explanations for each choice and the official materials behind them.
  4. Read the textbook Read each course's textbook online or download the free PDF (Japanese, Korean, English, Chinese).
  5. Try a mock exam Mock exams using the same booklet and OMR format as the real one are free and taken in the AIDAN app. There is also a "Web beta exam" you can take in a PC browser (free test version, no certificate).
  6. Take the official exam (preparing for sale) After release, certificate-issuing exams will be taken by buying a single-attempt ticket (planned at $3.99). As of October 2026, they are not on sale.

Daily practice looks like an exam booklet and answer sheet turned into a screen: questions on the left, an OMR-style answer area on the right, with the time limit (15 minutes) and number of marked answers at the top.

Flag questions with "review later" and go over them at the end.

AIDAN daily practice screen showing the white-belt AI Basics question booklet next to an OMR-style answer sheet, with remaining time and marked count
Daily practice for the white-belt "AI Basics" (no sign-up needed)

Source: AIDAN official site (same for the screen images below)

Courses (14 in total)

01Core skills (white to black belt)

Builds step by step from using AI to development, regardless of role.

  • White belt: AI Basics — how generative AI works and its limits; the shared foundation for using it safely at work
  • Yellow belt: Asking AI — instruction design, examples and structure, context engineering, evaluation and improvement
  • Green belt: Automating work with AI — automate routine work without code using projects, custom assistants, connectors and agent features
  • Blue belt: Building apps with AI — have a coding agent build a small web app, then verify, fix and deploy it
  • Red belt: Developing AI features — implement features with LLM APIs using structured output, tool calls, streaming and caching
  • Black belt: Building AI agents — design and run multi-step agents with tools, memory, evaluation and observability

02Specialties (roles and fields)

Adding one specialty to black belt makes 2nd dan; two make 3rd dan.

  • AI Security — defending against prompt injection, data leakage and excessive permissions
  • AI Law and Internal Rules — interpreting vendor usage policies, data processing terms and Korea's AI Basic Act
  • AI Cloud Operations — Vercel, Supabase, Terraform, Route 53, Cloudflare, zero trust and more
  • AI in Hiring and HR — using AI in recruiting, evaluation and employee data, with fairness
  • Teaching with AI — using AI in lesson design, materials and grading while protecting students
  • AI Auditing — audit planning, control evaluation and reporting on an organization's AI use
  • AI Marketing — AI ad copy and content, and related advertising regulations
  • Planning AI Services — deciding where to apply AI, requirements and success criteria, evaluation design

Each course page gathers the entry points for daily practice, mock exams, the Web beta exam and the promotion exam, along with the number of questions, exam time, passing score and domain weights.

AIDAN course page for the white-belt AI Basics, listing daily practice, mock exam, Web beta exam and promotion exam
Course page for the white-belt "AI Basics"

Some courses include Korea-specific content—for example, "AI Law and Internal Rules" covers Korea's AI Basic Act. If you want learning aligned with Japanese law, check the course content in the textbook before choosing.

Pricing

ItemPriceStatus (as of October 2026)
Daily practice (10 questions a day per course, review notes, explanations for each choice)FreeAvailable (no sign-up on the web)
Mock exams (same booklet and OMR as the real exam, unlimited)FreeAvailable (taken in the AIDAN app)
Web beta exam (PC browser, no certificate)FreeAvailable
Textbook PDFs (all 14 courses, 4 languages)FreeAvailable
Official exam single-attempt ticket (per course)$3.99 (planned release price)Preparing for sale
  • The official exam uses "exam-only questions that don't appear in free practice," with app lock mode, front-camera proctoring and a final human review. Passing issues a PDF certificate with your name, and anyone can verify it by certificate number
  • Unused tickets don't expire; retakes require a new ticket. Tickets for exams not yet started can be fully refunded within 7 days of payment (terms of service)
  • Payments from outside Korea are processed by Lemon Squeezy as merchant of record, and tax may be added depending on the country
  • There are contact points for corporate adoption (AI training or skill checks) and for advertising and sponsorship (quotes individually)

The certificate is private, not official

AIDAN's certificate is a private certificate issued by the operator, not a national or public qualification. The official site and terms state that it is an independent learning service with no affiliation with OpenAI, Anthropic, Google or Kukkiwon. It's best used as a gauge of your or your team's understanding rather than as a credential to show externally.

How fair examination works

On the premise that an AI-skills exam becomes meaningless if AI solves it, anti-cheating measures are built in (official "Fair Examination" page).

  • The server delivers and grades one question at a time; answers never leave the server
  • Text is rendered with a font generated per test-taker and per question, so copying, translation and screen-reading AI agents can't read the questions
  • Exams can start only in an app that passes device checks (they won't start with screen sharing, recording, rooting or emulators turned on)
  • Automated browsers, synthetic clicks and screen-width changes from opening an AI side panel are recorded and combined into a fairness score
  • Certificates are never revoked by automatic judgment alone; a person reviews the records, and test-takers can appeal

About the operator

It is run by Trappist. The footer lists the representative's name (김석용), business registration number (370-04-04053), mail-order business registration number, address (Yeonsu-gu, Incheon, South Korea), phone number and email (hello@trappist.app). The terms of service, privacy policy and exam rules have Japanese reference translations, with the Korean version taking precedence.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Solve 10 questions a day for free with no sign-up; textbook PDFs for every course are free too
  • Learn step by step in one service, from using AI to development and agents, plus role-specific issues
  • Each question cites official documentation, and questions are refreshed monthly
  • Anti-cheating measures and the human review and appeal process are published

Cons

  • Certificate-issuing exams aren't on sale yet; as of October 2026 you can only practice and test yourself
  • The certificate is private, not a national or public qualification
  • Some courses include Korea-specific content such as Korean law
  • Run by a sole proprietor in South Korea; contact is by email or KakaoTalk

How it differs from other learning services

ProductHow you learnScopePrice (as listed on each product page at the time checked)
AIDANSolve questions and learn from explanations (belt/dan certification format)Using generative AI, automation, development, role-specific issuesPractice and textbooks free; exams planned at $3.99 per attempt (preparing for sale)
ProgateSlides and in-browser exercisesGeneral programming; also intro to generative AI and Claude CodePlus plan from ¥990/month (tax incl.)
ドットインストール3-minute videosProgramming, Linux, Git, AI and machine learningPremium ¥1,480/month (tax incl.)
Aidemy BusinessCorporate e-learning plus coachingAI/DX talent development (250+ courses)Not disclosed (individual quote)
SIGNATE CloudCorporate e-learning, assessments, trainingDX and generative AI talent developmentNot disclosed (individual quote); 10-day free trial
  • If you want to learn by writing code, Progate and ドットインストール fit well
  • If your company wants to run AI training for employees, including enrollment management and coaching, corporate services such as Aidemy Business and SIGNATE Cloud are candidates
  • If you first want to check, for free, how correctly you use AI by answering questions, AIDAN is easy to start with no sign-up

FAQ

Q. Is AIDAN free? A. Daily practice (10 questions a day), mock exams and textbook PDFs for all courses are free, and web practice doesn't even require sign-up. Only the certificate-issuing official exam is paid, and as of October 2026 it is preparing for sale.

Q. Does it support Japanese? A. The site can be displayed in Japanese, and textbook PDFs are available in Japanese (as well as Korean, English and Chinese). Japanese versions of the terms and similar documents are reference translations; the Korean version prevails.

Q. Does passing give me a qualification? A. It's a private certificate issued by AIDAN, not a national or public qualification, and not an official certification from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google or others.

Q. Can I use it on a smartphone? A. Practice works on the web or in the app. Mock and official exams can be taken only in the AIDAN app on a device that passes the device check.

Q. Can my company use it? A. The pricing page has a contact point for corporate adoption (AI training or skill checks); share the courses, number of people and schedule to get a quote.

The information on this page is based on what was published on AIDAN's official site (pricing, fair examination, terms of service) as of October 2026. Please check the official site for the latest specifications and pricing.

Try AIDAN

Frequently compared services