
BluStellar Academy for AI
: How to use it, features, and the business problems it solves
Add bookmark
What is BluStellar Academy for AI?
BluStellar Academy for AI (formerly NEC Academy for AI) is a corporate AI talent development institution run by NEC Corporation. It offers a one-year "Admission Course" in which participants work on real AI projects under a mentor (7.2 million JPY per person per year), an "Open Course" to choose from about 60 trainings (such as LLM Application Development Basics, AI Quality Management, LLM education and a 20-day Data Scientist Bootcamp), e-training, and company-specific PBL and OJT support. Case studies from J-POWER, Mitsubishi Electric and others are published (as of November 2026).
Business problems it solves
About "BluStellar Academy for AI"
What is BluStellar Academy for AI?
BluStellar Academy for AI is an AI talent development institution run by NEC Corporation that turns company employees into AI professionals, including hands-on work experience. It was formerly called "NEC Academy for AI" (NECアカデミー for AI) and was opened based on the AI talent development NEC has carried out since 2013.
There are three courses: the "Admission Course," in which participants attend for one year while working on real AI projects under a mentor; the "Open Course," in which you choose what you need from about 60 trainings; and "BluStellar Academy Online for AI" (e-training), which offers popular Open Course trainings online. There are also corporate services that train data scientists or build planning skills for AI and data use individually for each company.
The main audience is people who build AI into business, such as data scientists, AI engineers and staff planning AI use. It also offers LLM trainings on how to use generative AI and DX/AI literacy trainings for all employees.
Source: NEC Corporation, official BluStellar Academy for AI website (About BluStellar Academy for AI)
Training overview
Training programs
The official website divides the skills AI talent needs into three — business skills, data science skills and data engineering skills — and offers trainings by skill and level. The main trainings, grouped by audience, are as follows.
01For all employees (literacy and using generative AI)
- LLM education — "LLM Literacy," which teaches the literacy needed to use ChatGPT at work, and "LLM Prompt Engineering Training," which teaches questioning techniques. Can also be held individually for companies and local governments
- DX Literacy Education / DX Mind and Stance — A curriculum aligned with the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry's DX Literacy Standard
- AI Literacy Education — Learn where data and AI are used and the statistical basics for reading data, with Excel exercises
- G検定 (JDLA Generalist exam) and DS検定 Literacy Level prep courses — Final preparation for certification exams (G検定 in 1 day; DS検定 over 2 days / 14 hours)
02For planning and promotion staff
- Strengthening Planning Skills for AI and Data Use: With Generative AI as Your Partner — Learn from identifying business issues to designing solutions for AI and data analysis projects. Includes exercises using an LLM to notice cognitive biases in problem setting (standard: 1 day of remote live training)
- AI Agent Business Application (BPR) AX Training Program — Using "A-WBS," a work-breakdown method premised on collaboration with AI, participants go from AI agent basics to designing applications to their own work in 2 days and take home 6 deliverables such as design documents and prototypes. The official page says "release planned in 2026"
- AI Business Use: Basics / AI Project Management: Basics — Planning businesses that use AI and how to run AI projects
- Data Utilization Project Practice (PBL) — For DX promoters, role-play an in-house data utilization project from planning to business application (based on a fictional supermarket; no actual data analysis is performed). Standard: 3 days of remote live training. Company-specific sessions from 2.5 million JPY for up to 10 people
03For engineers and data scientists
- LLM Application Development Basics — Learn how RAG works and how to improve its accuracy, text summarization, and fine-tuning on Azure OpenAI, then tackle accuracy improvement in group exercises (standard: 3 days of remote live training)
- AI Quality Management — Based on the Machine Learning Quality Management Guideline (AIQM), learn through exercises how to consider risks before development and handle problems during operation (standard: 1 day of remote live training)
- Data Scientist Bootcamp — Over 4 weeks (20 days) of lectures, exercises and presentations, learn from statistics and Python basics to prediction, classification and time series
- Deep learning, data analysis and AI system implementation — Image and text analysis with Python/PyTorch, building and operating AI systems including MLOps, and more
04Aiming for independence over a year (Admission Course)
- A one-year individual curriculum with a mentor — After entry, participants meet their mentor and choose trainings to match their skill level
- Sandbox and contests — A self-study environment and an analysis contest for participants to simulate AI projects
- Dojo (OJT) — Gain experience on 1–2 real AI projects selected by the mentor
Source: NEC Corporation, official BluStellar Academy for AI website (Admission Course)
Source: NEC Corporation, official BluStellar Academy for AI website (AI Agent Business Application (BPR) AX Training Program)
Pricing
Three amounts are published on the official website (as of November 2026; tax treatment is not stated for either).
| Course / training | Price | Unit | What is included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Admission Course | 7.2 million JPY per year (600,000 JPY/month) | Per person | One year (daytime attendance). Mentor system, bootcamp, self-study environment (sandbox), practical experience in the dojo, invitation to the AI talent community, certificate |
| Data Utilization Project Practice (PBL) (company-specific session) | From 2.5 million JPY | Per session (up to 10 people; larger numbers on request) | Standard: 3 days of remote live training. The fee per participant is the session cost divided equally by the number of participants |
| AI Agent Business Application (BPR) AX Training Program (company-specific session) | From 4 million JPY | Per session (up to 16 people; larger numbers on request) | 2-day training. Take home 6 deliverables (design documents, prototypes, etc.) usable from the following week. Release planned in 2026 |
| Open Course | Per training | Per person | No amounts on each training's introduction page. Apply from each training's page |
| BluStellar Academy Online for AI | Per training | Per person | E-training with a standard period of 3 months |
| Individual corporate services | Not disclosed (individual quote) | — | Consult via NEC sales or the inquiry form |
Selection for the Admission Course is by document screening of an entry sheet and a work-experience form, followed by an interview. The application period for April 2027 entry is September–November 2026 (planned), and it may close early depending on applications.
How to use subsidies
The official website has no information on subsidies. It states that the Admission Course and the Data Scientist Bootcamp are certified as "Fourth Industrial Revolution Skills Acquisition Courses (Re-skill Courses)" by the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry. Whether a training qualifies for a subsidy depends on its content and the participants' duties, so check with your local Labour Bureau before submitting a training plan.
Track record and reputation
The official website features case studies from the following companies (with links to interview articles on NEC's web media "wisdom" and elsewhere).
01Talent development cases
- J-POWER (Electric Power Development Co., Ltd.) — Aims to become a "data-driven company" where frontline sites take the lead, by fostering a data culture and developing DX talent with an emphasis on practical skills
- Toyo Kohan Co., Ltd. — Jumping into projects in other industries to hone practical skills
- Mitsubishi Electric Corporation — A new challenge toward developing DX talent
- Shikoku Electric Power Transmission & Distribution Co., Inc. — DX to keep supporting social infrastructure
- Daiwa House Industry Co., Ltd. — A case of the corporate service "Data Scientist Development Service (PBL)"
The official website explains that guidance in its Data Scientist OJT Support Service is based on "data analysis processes and guidelines developed through 2,000 AI projects." It also lists partnerships with Shiga University, Yokohama City University, the Japan Deep Learning Association (JDLA) and Keio University AIC.
Who it suits and who it doesn't
It suits companies that want to develop data scientists and AI engineers in-house and build a team that can handle AI development and implementation themselves. The Admission Course places one person in real AI projects for a year, giving practical experience that is hard to gain from training alone. The wide range of engineer trainings, such as RAG development, AI quality management and MLOps, is another point in its favor.
It does not suit companies that want to teach all employees how to use generative AI cheaply and broadly, or that want to compare prices before applying. The Admission Course costs 7.2 million JPY per person per year, and the introduction pages for the Open Course and e-training do not show amounts. The official website also does not show a flat-rate plan for rolling out across the whole company.
How it differs from other corporate AI training
Compared with training companies that also offer trainings for engineers and data scientists (as of the check dates stated on each product page; prices are shown with tax treatment as stated):
| Service | Main format | Price (published) | Example duration |
|---|---|---|---|
| BluStellar Academy for AI | Admission Course (1 year, OJT with a mentor), remote live, e-training, company-specific sessions | Admission Course 7.2 million JPY per person per year (600,000 JPY/month) / Open Course priced per training / company-specific sessions from 2.5 million JPY for up to 10 people (PBL training), etc. | From 1 day (bootcamp 20 days, Admission Course 1 year) |
| トレノケート AI研修 | Public courses, on-site instructors, e-learning | Public courses from 33,000 JPY per person (tax incl.), e-learning from 17,600 JPY (tax incl.) | 1–4 days |
| キカガク | On-site instructors, public courses, e-learning | From 30,000 JPY per person (excl. tax; Gemini training for SMEs) | 3–28 hours |
| スキルアップAI | On-site instructors, e-learning, hands-on support | Not disclosed (example: RAG building course 110,000 JPY per person, tax incl.) | Per course |
| SIGNATE Cloud | E-learning, assessment | Not disclosed (10-day free trial) | Standard from 10 hours |
| Aidemy Business | E-learning, hands-on support | Not disclosed | 1–3-year contracts |
To compare training companies more broadly, see "Best Corporate Generative AI Training Compared," which lines up 27 services on the same criteria.
Frequently asked questions
How much does BluStellar Academy for AI cost? The Admission Course costs 7.2 million JPY per person per year (600,000 JPY/month). The Open Course and e-training are priced per training, and the amounts are not shown on each training's introduction page. Company-specific sessions are listed from 2.5 million JPY for up to 10 people for Data Utilization Project Practice (PBL), and from 4 million JPY for up to 16 people for the AI Agent Business Application (BPR) AX Training Program (as of November 2026; tax treatment not stated for any of these).
How is it different from NEC Academy for AI? It is the same institution. The official website writes "BluStellar Academy for AI (formerly: NEC Academy for AI)."
Can subsidies be used? The official website has no information on subsidies. The Admission Course and the Data Scientist Bootcamp are certified as "Fourth Industrial Revolution Skills Acquisition Courses (Re-skill Courses)" by the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry. Check with your local Labour Bureau whether a subsidy applies.
Can it be taken online? Yes. Some Open Course trainings let you choose between remote live training (Zoom) and e-training, and most recommended trainings are standard remote live sessions. BluStellar Academy Online for AI is offered as e-training. The Admission Course is daytime attendance.
Can I consult before applying? At the "DX/AI Talent Development Consultation Room," you can consult NEC consultants for 30 minutes per session free of charge. It is for staff in charge of talent development at companies and government agencies; applications from competitors and individuals are not accepted.
The information on this page is based on what was published on the official website as of November 2026. Please check the official website for the latest prices and content.

