
Gemini
: How to use it, features, and the business problems it solves
Add bookmark
What is Gemini?
Gemini is an AI assistant provided by Google. Built on Gemini models (Flash-Lite, Flash, and Pro, plus Gemini 4 Argon—the latest model, launched October 13, 2026—on AI Pro and Ultra), it runs question answering and writing plus Deep Research, Gemini Live (voice), Canvas, and image/video generation in a single app. It integrates deeply with Google services such as Gmail, Google Docs, Search, Google Flow for video generation, and Gemini Notebook for research support. Pricing: free (Flash-Lite only from October 9, 2026), Google AI Plus ¥725 (up to Flash) / Pro ¥2,900 (up to Pro) / Ultra ¥14,500– (monthly).
Business problems it solves
About "Gemini"
What is Gemini
Gemini is an AI assistant provided by Google. Built on Gemini models (Flash-Lite, Flash, and Pro, plus Gemini 4 Argon, the latest model, available to Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers since October 13, 2026), it handles question answering and writing, and also brings Deep Research (automated research), Gemini Live (voice conversation), Canvas (collaborative editing), and image and video generation together in a single app. Its biggest distinguishing feature is deep integration with Google's suite of services, including Gmail, Google Docs, Google Search, Google Flow for video generation, and Gemini Notebook for research support.
The latest model Gemini 4 Argon, and the upcoming Gemini 4 Carbon (October 2026)
Gemini 4 Argon is the latest model, rolled out in the Gemini app on October 13, 2026 (Google official blog). It is available to Google AI Pro (¥2,900/month) and Google AI Ultra subscribers, and the Japanese pricing page also lists "access to Gemini 4 Argon" as an AI Pro and Ultra benefit. The free plan is limited to Flash-Lite and Google AI Plus goes up to Flash, so Argon is not available on those plans.
- Answers: More direct, with less hedging, and more frequent progress updates on long tasks
- Tasks: Switch from chat to "tasks" and Gemini keeps working across your Google apps and more even while you are away from your computer. The official blog announced it for AI Pro and Ultra subscribers, while the Japanese pricing page lists early access to "Tasks in Gemini" and more as an AI Ultra benefit "in select countries only," and does not state whether it is available in Japan (checked October 29, 2026)
- 40+ connected apps: Connects to apps such as Instacart, OpenTable, Adobe, and Shopify for ordering, booking, design, and more
- Coding: Google Antigravity's agentic coding interface is available directly in the Gemini macOS app
Gemini 4 Carbon is a higher-end model built on Argon that Google announced on October 28, 2026 (Google official blog). It is strong in cybersecurity and long-horizon tasks, scoring highly on vulnerability finding (SEC-bench Pro 88.2%) and patching (CWE-bench 71.0%). However, for now it is offered only to a subset of cyber defenders through the Fairwind Program, will be phased to additional trusted partners, and will come to developers, businesses, and consumers "as soon as possible." Google has not stated when it will reach the Gemini app or whether it will be available in Japan (as of October 29, 2026).
An AI assistant that works as one with Google services
Gemini's strength is that you can call up AI right inside the Google tools you already use every day. AI assistance in Gmail and Docs, AI Mode in Search, AI video production in Google Flow, and document comprehension in Gemini Notebook all connect together, usable across the board with a single Google account. Higher-tier plans give you access to more capable models and larger context (importing files of up to 1,500 pages).
How to use it
-
Sign in with your Google account
Go to gemini.google.com and sign in with your Google account. You can start using it for free.
-
Ask a question or make a request
Enter what you want to look up or create. Attaching images and files is also supported.
-
Research and generate
Run automated research with Deep Research, or generate images and video (Google Flow).
-
Integrate with Google services
Put Gemini to work inside Google tools such as Gmail, Docs, and Search.
-
Choose a plan
Depending on your usage and the models you need, upgrade to a paid Google AI plan (Plus / Pro / Ultra).
Features
01Conversation and research
Ask and research in one place.
- Flash-Lite / Flash / Pro / Gemini 4 Argon — Models by plan, with switchable effort levels (low, medium, high) (Argon on AI Pro and Ultra)
- Deep Research — Automatically gathers information and turns it into a report
- Gemini Live / Canvas — Voice conversation and collaborative editing
02Generate
From text to images and video.
- Image generation and editing — Nano Banana and more
- Video generation (Google Flow) — Create cinematic scenes
- Gemini Notebook — Source-grounded research and audio overviews
03Google integration and agents
Inside your usual tools.
- Gmail / Docs / Search — Integrated directly into Google services
- Agent capabilities — Tasks, 40+ connected apps, Deep Search, and agentic development (Antigravity)
- Large context — Import files of up to 1,500 pages
Pricing
It is free to use, and a Google AI subscription raises the models and usage limits available (amounts are the monthly prices shown on the Japanese pricing page, which does not state whether tax is included; checked October 29, 2026).
| Plan | Monthly | Models (after the October 2026 change) | Usage limit | What's included |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| No plan (free) | ¥0 | Flash-Lite only | Standard | Image generation, Deep Research, Live, Canvas, 15GB |
| Google AI Plus | ¥725 | Flash-Lite, Flash | 2x standard | Video generation, Flow 200 credits, 5x Notebook, 400GB |
| Google AI Pro | ¥2,900 | Flash-Lite, Flash, Pro, Gemini 4 Argon | 4x standard | Deep Search (AI Mode, select countries), Flow 1,000 credits, Gmail/Docs integration, 5TB |
| Google AI Ultra | ¥14,500– | Flash-Lite, Flash, Pro, Gemini 4 Argon (highest access), Deep Think | 5x (¥14,500) / 20x (¥32,000) AI Pro | Early access to Tasks in Gemini and more (select countries), Flow 10,000–25,000 credits, 20TB+ |
Model availability change in October 2026: According to Google's official help article "Changes to Gemini model access and limits", the models available on personal accounts now depend on the plan. Without a plan, only Flash-Lite is available from October 9 (previously 3.6 Flash and limited access to 3.1 Pro). AI Plus loses Pro, and subscribers receive an email explaining when the change applies to them. For each model you can choose an effort level (low, medium, high); higher levels use more of your limit. Deep Think is listed for AI Ultra only in the English help article, while the Japanese version lists AI Pro and AI Ultra (checked October 8). Limits are compute-based, refreshing every 5 hours until you reach your weekly limit.
API (developer) pricing: On the Gemini API, Gemini 4 Argon (model ID gemini-4-argon) has an introductory price through November 30, 2026 of $2 input / $10 output per 1M tokens (output includes thinking tokens), rising to $4 input / $20 output from December 1 (Gemini API pricing). Argon is not available on the API free tier. Gemini 4 Carbon has been announced to launch at the same introductory price as Argon ($2 input / $10 output, with cached input at 95% off the input price), with $4 input / $20 output applying after the introductory period (its end date has not been stated).
Gemini Enterprise is also offered for businesses (this change applies to personal accounts).
How it differs from other AI assistants
Gemini stands out for being "usable as one with Google's suite of services." Like ChatGPT and Claude, it is a high-performance conversational AI, but its strength lies in integration with its own ecosystem, such as Gmail, Search, and video generation.
| Gemini | ChatGPT | Claude | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Provider | OpenAI | Anthropic | |
| Strengths | Google service integration, video generation, large context | Breadth of features, agents, ecosystem | Writing, code, safety |
| Free tier | Yes (¥0) | Yes (¥0) | Yes ($0) |
If you're choosing based on breadth of features or agents, ChatGPT is a comparison point; if you prioritize writing, code, and safety, Claude is worth comparing.
The information on this page is based on what was published on the official website as of October 2026. Please check the official website for the latest specifications and pricing.
Frequently compared services
Articles featuring Gemini
Alexa+(アレクサプラス)とは?日本で10月29日に早期アクセス開始|料金(プライム会員は無料・会員以外は月額3,000円)・対応デバイス・申込方法
Amazonは2026年10月29日、生成AIを搭載した新しいアシスタント「Alexa+(アレクサプラス)」の早期アクセスを日本で始めました。早期アクセス中は無料で、終了後もプライム会員なら追加料金なし、会員以外は月額3,000円です。この記事では、アマゾンジャパンの発表とAmazon.co.jpの公式ページにもとづいて、今のAlexaとの違い、日本でできること・まだできないこと(食べログの予約や出前館・Uber Eatsとの連携は今後)、料金と未公表の点、対応するEcho・Fire TVと申込方法、注意点を整理します。
Gemini無料版がFlash-Liteのみに【2026年10月9日から】AI PlusとAI Proどちらを選ぶか・Deep Think・使用量上限の早見表
Googleは個人アカウントのGeminiアプリで使えるモデルをプラン別に分け、有料プランに入っていない人は2026年10月9日からFlash-Liteのみになります。これまで無料で使えたFlashとPro(制限つき)は選べなくなり、月額¥725のGoogle AI PlusもFlashまで(適用日はメールで個別に通知)、Proが使えるのはAI Pro(¥2,900)とAI Ultra(¥14,500〜)だけです。この記事では、Googleの公式ヘルプと料金ページにもとづいて、プラン×モデルの変更前・変更後の早見表、5時間ごとにリセットされる使用量上限の倍率、新しいエフォートレベル(低・中・高)を整理します。英語版ヘルプはAI Ultraのみ、日本語版はAI ProとAI Ultraと記載が分かれているDeep Thinkの対象も確認し、無料のままでよい人・AI Plusで足りる人・AI Proが必要な人の目安と、Workspace・API・スマホアプリの扱いまで解説します。
What Jev Is [October 2026]: The AI That Generates No Text — How to Use It, Pricing, and How It Differs from Microsoft-Decision-1
On 9 October 2026, Microsoft released Microsoft-Decision-1, a decision model at the same price as Jev ($0.042 per million input tokens, free output) and with the same question types. This article explains what Jev — released by TypeSafe AI on 15 September 2026 — is: a System One model that generates no text and returns Choice (classification), Score (rating) and Noul (a 0–1 truth value) with probabilities; speculative fan-out, where stacking questions barely changes latency; how to get started from the waitlist to the Python SDK, HTTP API and Claude Code skill; routing low-confidence answers to people; and use cases. It then compares Jev with Microsoft-Decision-1 (access, context length, availability, Japanese support), explains which to choose and whether you can use them from Japan, and covers Jev's latest status in October (Series A, rate limits, OpenRouter listing). It also covers the official note that CJK accuracy is lower than English and the weak spots TypeSafe publishes itself.
![What Jev Is [October 2026]: The AI That Generates No Text — How to Use It, Pricing, and How It Differs from Microsoft-Decision-1 What Jev Is [October 2026]: The AI That Generates No Text — How to Use It, Pricing, and How It Differs from Microsoft-Decision-1](/_next/image?url=%2Fimages%2Farticles%2Fjev-typesafe-ai-guide.png&w=3840&q=75)
What GPT-6 Astra Is [September 2026]: Which ChatGPT Plans Include It, API Pricing, and How to Split Work with GPT-5.6
GPT-6 Astra, announced by OpenAI on 3 September 2026 (US time), is a flagship tuned for computer use and long, multi-step work, true to the pitch that it "can do anything a person can do on a computer." It scores 72.6% on OSWorld 2.0, and time per task drops 47% from GPT-5.6 Sol's roughly 75 minutes to roughly 40. This article checks what changed against the benchmarks, then lays out where each ChatGPT plan can use it (Pro at ¥16,800 / ¥30,000, Business and Enterprise get "GPT-6 Pro" in Chat; Plus at ¥3,000 gets it through ChatGPT Work and Codex; Free and Go do not), the caps such as 50 or 200 messages a week, API pricing ($10 input / $50 output, 2.5x Sol) and how to split work with Sol, Terra and Luna, and the behaviour changes on switching (more clarifying questions, more sensitivity to skill files), based on OpenAI's announcement, Help Center and model page.
![What GPT-6 Astra Is [September 2026]: Which ChatGPT Plans Include It, API Pricing, and How to Split Work with GPT-5.6 What GPT-6 Astra Is [September 2026]: Which ChatGPT Plans Include It, API Pricing, and How to Split Work with GPT-5.6](/_next/image?url=%2Fimages%2Farticles%2Fgpt-6-astra-guide.png&w=3840&q=75)
What Is Cloudflare OS? A Deep Dive into the Open-Source AI Agent Workspace (Architecture, Gatekeepers, Self-Hosting, Pricing)
Cloudflare open-sourced Cloudflare OS, an AI agent workspace, on August 5, 2026. This article covers its zero-permission Gatekeeper security, model selection and cost control via AI Gateway, Gadgets (small personal apps), how to deploy it into your own Cloudflare account, and pricing — based on the official blog and GitHub.

Claude Fable 5 vs. GPT-5.5 vs. Gemini 3.1 Pro: Which Should You Choose? A Deep Dive into Performance, Pricing, and Use Cases [July 2026]
A thorough comparison of the latest flagship models from the industry's three leading AI labs, all released in the first half of 2026: Claude Fable 5, GPT-5.5, and Gemini 3.1 Pro. Covers benchmark performance, API pricing, context windows, multimodal support, and how to use them on consumer plans like ChatGPT Plus, Claude Pro, and Google AI Pro — with recommendations by use case, based primarily on official data.
![Claude Fable 5 vs. GPT-5.5 vs. Gemini 3.1 Pro: Which Should You Choose? A Deep Dive into Performance, Pricing, and Use Cases [July 2026] Claude Fable 5 vs. GPT-5.5 vs. Gemini 3.1 Pro: Which Should You Choose? A Deep Dive into Performance, Pricing, and Use Cases [July 2026]](/_next/image?url=%2Fimages%2Farticles%2Fai-model-compare-claude-fable-5-gpt-5-5-gemini-3-1.png&w=3840&q=75)
How to Use Sakana AI Fugu: From API Key to Claude Code | Pricing, Free Tier, and Performance
A guide to Sakana AI's multi-agent platform Fugu: issuing an API key at console.sakana.ai, calling the OpenAI-compatible API, and wiring it into Codex and Claude Code. Covers choosing between Fugu, Fugu Ultra, and Fugu Cyber, pricing and whether a free tier exists, and benchmark performance.

[2026 Latest] 16 AI Tools to Maximize Sales Performance | Dramatically Improving Meeting, Proposal, and Call Efficiency
A curated look at the AI tools getting attention in sales today. Covers the latest AI for every workflow challenge — from lead generation and proposal decks to meeting note creation.
![[2026 Latest] 16 AI Tools to Maximize Sales Performance | Dramatically Improving Meeting, Proposal, and Call Efficiency [2026 Latest] 16 AI Tools to Maximize Sales Performance | Dramatically Improving Meeting, Proposal, and Call Efficiency](/_next/image?url=%2Fimages%2Farticles%2Fai-sales-tools-recommendation.png&w=3840&q=75)







